Fortune II: on gifts
09.05.02 // 9:46 p.m.

"You will receive and unexpected gift from an acquaintance."

- fortune cookie from Panda Express

I opened up my cookie in training on Tuesday, right after I had a discussion with Chispa and Jimmy (guy on my staff) during lunch about what's currently going on with Dominic. As soon as I read it, I laughed and then passed it on to Chispa and Jimmy who gave me "looks."

It seemed like perfect timing as the discussion with Jimmy and Chispa was about how upset I was that Dom did nothing more for my birthday this weekend other than say "happy birthday." I saw him this weekend too, and didn't bring it up to him at all as I'm not one to say, "Hey, where's my birthday gift?" Either way, I was really upset as I drove home on Monday night. Maybe this wouldn't be that big of a deal if things with Dom weren't so shaky all the time.

I've talked to several friends about this and they all try to make excuses or offer explanations as to why the guy I've been dating since November and have known nearly a year put so little effort into my birthday. But whatever they think of, I find some way to refute it, and still don't understand why he couldn't even buy/make a card or even offer an explanation as to why he's empty handed.

At this point, I'm just putting off the discussion only because there are so many other things that take priority in my life. In the back of my mind I'm still hoping that perhaps he'll still fix this and is just running late as I often am.

Oh yeah, back to the fortune cookie, it slipped out of my pocket when I was at the dealership with my parents. My mom found it, read it aloud, and then laughed. I guess my car was kind of a gift from them too (though I am paying it off) and it did come quicker than I expected.

Oh yes, and I have some ideas for names for my new car:

- Nube Azul: means blue cloud and goes with the color and ties in well with Stratus

- Mixti: means cloud in Nahuatl and is pronounced "meech-tee." Again, I'm trying to go with the cloud theme.

Which do you like more?

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: sad 'cause jason y. at work shaved his beatiful hair!
Escuchando: nil

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star