Finito!
09.13.02 // 5:25 p.m.

It�s done! Finally, and it�s beautiful except for one pesky footnote in the Statement of Need in the wrong font. But in the grand scheme of things, it really doesn�t matter. I�m happy, really happy. I feel like a HUGE thing on my things to do list has finally been crossed off. This is what I�ve been working on all summer. I don�t think I�ve ever written so many drafts of one paper/document.

On to today�s Friday Five on school!

1. What was/is your favorite subject in school? Why?
Do you mean I have to pick just one? Well, in high school it was always English and History, and when I got here to college it became Sociology and Chicana/o Studies� hence, my double major. Chicana/o Studies was great because I got a chance to learn about my community. At first when I was taking the classes I felt cheated that at 18 this was the first time I was truly learning about my community in school. I loved the intention of Chicana/o Studies which was created not only for students to learn about their communities, but to use that knowledge to create social change and improve their communities. Plus, Chicana/o Studies is interdisciplinary which worked out wonderfully for me because I have such a broad range of interests. I love ethnomusicology and literature too. What can I say? I love everything about music. With ethnomusicology, I had the chance to learn the history of certain forms of music, such as jazz and Mexican genres, while at the same time putting it into a historical context. I almost decided to minor in ethnomusicology but the music theory courses scared me. Why literature? Well I love to write and read. Literature (here�s where my Spanish minor came in) gives me the chance to do that and then pick apart and analyze the novel/poem/short story, etc. Finally, I like sociology just because it�s a fun major and I got to take courses such as Sociology of Deviant Behavior, Sociology of Mental Illness, and Sociology of Collective Behavior. Oh yeah, although theory can sometimes be scary, I actually really liked sociological theory (Marx, Durkheim, Weber, Mead, etc).

2. Who was your favorite teacher? Why?
I�ve had tons of teachers, but I think the ones who stick out the most are the following:

Profe Mac�as: because he has a great sense of history, embodies the history of Chicana/o Studies as a discipline, is down to earth and very approachable, he�s very supportive of the student voice in decision making, and because he cares which is more than you can say about many professors at a large research university.

Mr. Adams: from 9th to 11th grade Mr. A was my music teacher and band director. I still remember all his great stories, sense of humor and caring nature. Although he retired after 30 years as the director in 11th grade, he still cared enough to send me a graduation card a year later. I still see him and he always asks how I�m doing and how my family is doing. �No, no, never, never, uh, uh, uh!�

Mr. Tabor: I took stats with Tabor my senior year. I don�t think I�ve ever enjoyed a math class so much. Tabor was the teacher who made me think seriously about teaching as a career. He could have done anything, but he decided to work as a teacher because it was the profession in which he felt he could be the most influential in the lives of teens. I still see him around. Oh yeah, he�s cute too.

3. What is your favorite memory of school?
Again, I can�t pick just one, but I can pick the most memorable experiences:
Oversleeping and missing a statistics midterm and the next quarter doing the same and missing my earthquakes midterm.
Getting caught cheating on a test about the �discovery� of the Americas in 8th grade (I wrote a whole short story on this one for a creative writing course two years ago).
All the times I got to perform in front of thousands of people with either the WHS band or the UCLA band.
Traveling to the UK and Australia with the WHS band.
Every Raza Youth Conference.
The March 14th, 2001 rally to demand the repeal of SP-1 and SP-2 at UCLA.
All of the Freshman Summer Program.
Getting elected to USAC.
Graduating!

4. What was your favorite recess game?
Dodge ball. I was pretty good at it too. I could hold my own with the boys.

5. What did you hate most about school?
Through high school I was always bothered by the fact that I was often the only Chicana in my honors and advanced placement classes. In college, it was that there weren�t enough people who looked like me and having to put it with ignorant people.

Comments: 3 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: done!
Escuchando: the fan

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star