apathy
02.09.04 // 8:45 p.m.

From now on, I should only watch Spanish language news on television. The local reports are horrible. They focus more on irrelevant things like the Jackson-Timberlake incident than what's going on in other countries.

On Friday, I spent some of the evening at my madrina and padrino's house. We watched the news on Univisi�n. It was great - not without it's faults - but they actually talked about things that mattered to real people.

Earlier in the day, I was in the lecture I for the seminar. I gave a presentation on the socio-political context of the 1990s and how it affected campus organizing. Even though I just got here in 1998, I know enough from doing my own research and sitting in enough similar discussions. Plus, it's not like I was clueless about what was going on around me beforehand.

It's fascinating, but what I got from that and the panel was that students now don't really give a shit about what's going on in the world around them.

There are some, but for the most part, people are apathetic as hell. Fees are increasing all over the place, outreach programs are about to be cut, the governor is an ass, the president and "intelligence" deliberately lied, super powers are pushing for more free trade treaties, etc.

And what do people talk about? Stupid shit like who wore what to the Grammys.

I think I should have a series entitled: there's something wrong here, folks series.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: disappointed
Escuchando: "just live heaven" the cure

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star