mi�rcoles de cenizas
02.09.05 // 11:40 p.m.

I don't think I've ever missed an Ash Wednesday service. If I did, it's not in my memory. For the past 6 or so years, I've attended services on campus at 8 in the morning or off campus at the small chapel right next to the fraternities in the evening.

I find Ash Wednesday funny, in an odd sort of way. Aside from la Fiesta de la Virgen de Guadalupe, I've never seen the churches so crowded. Everyone comes out, including those Catholics who don't got to Mass on a weekly basis and only observe the Holy Days of Obligation.

When I was in high school, I'd see tons of people in Mass on Ash Wednesday and think, 'He's [or she's] Catholic?! Wow... I would have never guessed.'

I still have that reaction these days, but to a much lesser extent since I hardly attend Mass in Westwood and prefer to go home to the parish I grew up in.

So... Lent has begun, and I already messed up. I completely forgot to fast and to abstain from eating meat. I'm bad.

Even in the times when I've felt kinda "eh" about my religion abd my sprirituality (which has been pretty often in the last few years), Lent always makes me reflect. The folks I know who grew up Catholic but no longer practice still find it important to observe the rituals of Lent. They fast and abstain from eating meat on Fridays, and they give something up.

I'm still thinking about what I'll do this Lent to improve and strengthen my sense of spirituality.

Comments: 7 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: reflective
Escuchando: something pato is playing, i can barely here it

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star