my first love
02.28.05 // 3:15 p.m.

For a long time, I seriously wanted to be the female Josh Kun. I wanted to hob nob with Mexican and Latin American rock's elite. I wanted to write journalistic and academic articles and papers on music, identity, Southern California, Chicanas/os and all the other things I loved.

I wanted to be one of the people writing and researching popular culture. I wanted to do an ethnographic study of the underground hip hop and rock en espa�ol scene in Los Angeles. I wanted to analyze the
poetic lyrics just like I would analyze the literature in my Spanish
courses.

I really wanted to do this. There were a couple of graduate programs I planned on applying to when it came time for me to leave my job at Calmecac and apply to graduate school.

So, why the hell am I in a graduate program in higher education? I know this is not my passion. I know music, literature and writing are my passions.

When I sat down to think about what I really wanted, I knew I couldn't follow my first passions. I knew deep down that education was where I was meant to be.

I wouldn't have known that if I would have not ended up working with Calmecac. The job with Calmecac was almost a last resort. I almost had to be convinced to apply. In some ways, it was like someone intervened and made me realize this was another talent I had. I was almost forced to see higher education issues and retention in a different light.

I truly do love education. I feel like it's a good place for me. I know I chose my second love over my first love, and I'm fine with it.

Really, I am.

Comments: 3 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: hungry
Escuchando: nada, que sorpresa

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star