slap, grab, squeeze and pull
02.13.05 // 3:24 a.m.

If necessary, I can: break your nose; gouge your eyes; get out of a choke hold; break the metatarsal bones at the top of your foot; cause you to pass out with pain to your testicles (assuming you have them); break free from your grip; and cause excruciating pain to your kneecaps.

Well, I might have exaggerated a tad, but I learned techniques to do all of the above. Hopefully, I'm never in a situation where I actually have to use one of the techniqes.

I spent most of my Saturday afternoon learning about how to stay out of trouble and then how to stop an assailant. Pato and I took a self defense course organized by the Center for Women and Men on campus and the Los Angeles Commission on Assaults Against Women.

We had been interested in the class for some time now. She signed up for it once, but it was cancelled. I just had not gotten around to doing so.

Now, when I do something that shows my bad judgement - like walk alone at night to the SV parking structure because I got mad at a friend and didn't want him to give me a ride - I'll at least be a little safer.

I need to keep reminding myself that I am not invincible.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: strong
Escuchando: "the execution of all things" by rilo kiley

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star