El espejo
03.10.02 // 3:05 p.m.

I have a mirror on my dresser that was a gift for my 21st birthday from Pancho y Celia Heredia (she is my padrino�s sister). They brought it back with them from M�xico, and you can tell. The mirror stands on a 6 inch wooden stand, and is circular in shape. The 5-inch diameter mirror is bordered by a frame painted with flowers. It�s beautiful and I love it.

The mirror was one of the first things I thought about after the news this morning. I was getting ready to take my parents to the airport for their weekend trip to San Francisco when I found out. My mom called my madrina Chilo and she gave her the news: Pancho Heredia passed away suddenly the night before porque se le revent� un pulm�n (a burst lung? Not sure quite how it translates).

The Heredia�s are part of our very extended family that often includes the family of aunts and uncles. I grew up with Pancho and Celia�s younger kids Javier and Franceli. It was just really shocking and saddening. Franceli must be about 19 years old and already she lost her father� I pray for her and her family in this really tough time.

It was weird how I knew something really bad had happened before my mom even told me. I saw her face when her own sister told her about Pancho�s death and her response. It seems like I always sense the news right before I hear it; I just know it can�t be good. As of now, I don�t know of any services for him, but if time permits I�ll try to go out there.

Descanse en paz, Pancho.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star