where i go, i just don't know
01.23.04 // 9:03 p.m.

I'm listening to the Gypsy Kings. It reminds me of the summer of '96 and the Spanish boy, Sergio, who I thought I was in love with. I've never told this story have I?

That summer, my parents volunteered to host a Spanish exchange student participating in a program to learn English. We got stuck with this giant, Ivan. He was an only child so he was probably overwhelmed to be in a 3 bedroom house with 6 other people. Still, we survived.

Ivan didn't come alone though. I'm sure about 30 or 40 more students came. The people coordinating it were friends from church so they placed the other students with other church folks.

The students were here to experience life in Southern California. They went to beaches, Disneyland, Hollywood and all the other tourist traps. They were normal though.

That's where Sergio comes in. Sergio was my age, or maybe a little older. He had light brown hair that fell over his eyes in a nice way. Oh, and his eyes were colored. Green? Blue? I can't remember. I was a traitor to my people that summer. I fell for the man from Spain. Ha.

So why do the Gypsy Kings remind me of Sergio? Well, because we spent many afternoons lounging around the pool at the Martinez's house where he was staying. And Mr. M liked the Gypsy Kings.

Actually, the Red Hot Chilli Peppers remind me a lot more of Sergio. One afternoon, Danny, myself, Sergio, Sergio 2, Ivan, and Eliana, piled into the van and headed over to Guitar Center to get Sergio a new guitar. Danny, put KROQ on nice and loud, as that was what all the cool kids listened to before rap-rock took over.

I sat in the back, day dreaming and thinking about how much I wished Sergio didn't live in Spain. The Red Hot Chilli Pepper's "Soul to Squeeze" started playing. I started singing to myself, but loud enough so that Sergio could hear. He was singing too and then we looked at each other in the middle of the chorus:

Where I go I just don't know
I got to got to gotta take it slow.
When I find my piece of mind
I'm gonna give you some of my good time.

It was a sort of magical moment. I was sure it meant that we were soulmates or that perhaps I'll find myself singing in sync with a boy like that and he'll be my soulmate.

Soul to Squeeze is still one of my favorites. I still don't really know where I'm going, I could even end up in M�xico.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: conten
Escuchando: ella fitzgerald's delightful "you've got a friend"

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star