elitist me
12.13.02 // 5:32 p.m.

I had this conversation with Eligio yesterday about �types.� It�s been years since I would say I had a �type� of guy that I was interested in. I�ve long since thrown out any sort of criteria for the men I date, and now I just know what qualities attract me.

I know very well what attracts me, and it has little to do with looks. Yeah, looks matter, but I�m attracted to so much more. I�m attracted to his brain, his attitude, and all that other stuff you won�t necessarily know about unless you speak to him. I think about Dom a lot when I think of this, �cause in all honesty, Dom wasn�t gorgeous or anything. I know my friends that met him might have been wondering what I saw in him. But he had so much to attract me to him and that�s what I fell for. He made me laugh, we talked about plans, he had an immense amount of knowledge of music, he was smart, and most importantly, he made me feel good.

So, as I told all this to Eligio, I came to realize that I still have a class bias. Class and educational attainment are important to me. I know I�m still dealing with my own elitism.

I�m a snob. I�m impressed with people who have degrees � the more the better � and it matters from what school too. In the past I�ve dated guys who were UC students and one who went to a community college. If Dom didn�t have all these other things going for him, I might have looked down on him for going to a community college and then a Cal State school. Don�t you understand, according to the California Master Plan of Higher Education, the UC�s are at the top and the CC�s are at the end? Yeah� it�s hella elitist, and I still find it important.

I know it�s going to sound horrible, but I want to date someone on my level. You know, someone who�s got similar plans and goals for life. He can want to change the world, or he can want to be a musician but I just want him to do something! Hey, I�m a young college educated Chicana, I want someone who understands where I�m coming from. I want to be able to have discussions on the state of the Catholic Church in provincial Mexico, peasant uprisings, and the symbolism in El Crimen de Padre Amaro with someone who will contribute just as much, or more, to the conversation.

I don�t want a boy version of me� no way, that would be very boring, but I do know a boy who grew up in the suburbs and is in college, or just fresh out of college is much more attractive to me than some one who isn�t.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: okay
Escuchando: Arshad call me the devil...

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star