que viajar a veces no es mejor
12.21.03 // 9:32 p.m.

La Negrita
por Caf� Tacvba

Bueno el cuento de la Negrita sigue as�,
Despu�s de haber viajado tanto por todo el pa�s
Regres� a su costa amada pa' seguir en el malec�n gritando
"Vendo pescado frito con lim�n"

Y su supiera las cosas que pudo ver
Que no se parece nada a los sue�os de su ni�ez
La Negrita no comprende de donde fue el que sali� el cuento es�
Que en otro lugar vives mejor

Porqu� es muy f�cil de pensar que hay que viajar para triunfar
Que aqu� no hay oportunidad, que en otro lado s� habr�
Lo que experiencia ya adquiri� nunca se pudo olvidar
Que su cadera en caminar lleva el ritmo de la mar

Por eso un d�a nublado se regres�
Y vio que ac� en su puerto siempre calentaba el sol
Y cuando alguien le pregunta de las cosas que aprendi� contesta,
Que viajar a veces no es mejor
Que quedarse al sol es lo mejor


I'm not going to translate the song, but I will say that it sums up my year quite nicely. I traveled all over the country like la Negrita trying to find something better than what I have here. Yeah, I found lots of great things, met wonderful new people, and learned lots, but the most important thing was learning to appreciate Los Angeles (and Southern California), the people here (family, friends, etc), and my work much more. Quedarse al sol es lo mejor, y tengo bastante en Los Angeles.

So, this is the first installment in my 2003 review. Ah, the 2003 Big City Tour... I went all around the country in planes, trains, automobiles, and even ferries. I loved it, but was always glad to come home. Here's the rankings for the trips:

1. Boston and Cambridge (November).
I wasn't supposed to go on this trip. I kept telling myself I needed to save money for graduate school applications. I let that all go in the middle of a conversation with Arshad. I bought my ticket in October, and a few weeks later, I was on my way to Boston. I'm pretty good at rationalizing things. I told myself I was in dire need of a mini-vacation in an area of the country I had yet to explore, New England. In addition, I'd get to check out a school I was seriously considering for graduate study (Harvard), and visit friends. It would be a mix of business and pleasure. Perfect. And it was.

Boston wasn't the best because it was Boston. Instead, it was about the people I was with, and most importantly myself. By November, I'd become a better traveler. I didn't go in to this trip with any high expectation, in fact I didn't have much planned. I had good company too, perhaps the best (I don't mean I had bad company on the other trips, but the situations were different).

My one true measure of the success of the trip is not all about the highlights, but about the lowlights and the type of lowlights I had. With Boston, the only thing that got me down was the weather, something completely out of my control. I had fun and never felt shitty as I did on some of my other trips. And of course, the company was great too. Boston wins, oddly enough.

Oh yeah, this is also the only trip where I got someone's number! Ha!

2. San Francisco and Oakland (September).
Okay, the SF trips don't really count, but for the rankings, this one will. I realized I went up north this year almost as much as I did last year. I found that odd. I went in January on a day trip for a huge anti-war march and rally. I returned to the city in August for a weekend trip with Lori, to relive old times. A month later, I flew up for another 24 hour trip. The last was the best. I wandered around the city alone, visited Chispa, saw Caf� Tacvba with Vane, and fell in love with the city all over again.

3. New York City (December-January).
I began 2003 sulking in a dark room in a third-floor apartment of a building on Malcolm X Blvd in Bed-Stuy, in the heart of Brooklyn. Stevie Wonder's classic, "Sir Duke," played in the background of the party. Highs and lows if I ever saw 'em. The 10 days in NYC were all about partying all night, sleeping away most of the daylight hours, eating great food, trekking all over the city, and just spending time with good friends. It was tough if only because I didn't expect how difficult it would be to spend 10 days away from LA with the boy I'd just broken up with in October. New York was good, but I cried on that trip and didn't remember some of my last night there, so it gets the number 3 spot.

My favorite image (there are more in fotos): an odd bunch

4. Portland, Seattle, and Vancouver (July).
5 guys, 1 girl, two countries, 3 cities, 2 states, 1 minivan (J.Lo), and loads of fun. Highlights: seeing a really beautiful part of the country, the best used bookstore ever, meeting some great new people, the soundtrack, and spending time with good friends. Lowlights: the ex-factor (again), being the only girl, and the shortness of the trip. I really wish I could have spent more time in Seattle and Vancouver.

My favorite image (I need to scan my pics!): an odd bunch, the silhouette version (by Vic)

5. Chicago (February-March).
I may have ranked this trip 5, but it wasn't bad, at all. I was really excited about this trip because I'd get to spend some quality time with Will. I was scared about it too, because I knew I would be really cold. Will was great. The cold wasn't. Because of the cold, I wasn't too excited about seeing Chicago even though my host was intent on showing me the greatness of his city. I would like to return sometime when the weather is nicer and explore more of the city, like the major Mexican communities.

My favorite images (there aren't many): beso before I leave, and I can read (both by Will)

6. Atlanta (May).
Again, don't be deceived, this trip was good too, but it had its drama. The downsides? The Atlanta nightlife scared and overwhelmed us (me and Lori), I broke things off with Will, and we were limited to areas close to our hotel because we didn't have a car. The good stuff? The Piedmont Park and the jazz festival, the botanical gardens, company (Yoyi, Will, Chris, Tim, etc). Atlanta had it's moments, but it didn't compare to the top ones.

My favorite images (all by Yoyi, except the one of her, Will gets credit for that one): caterpillar, the view, Lori at the window, xochitl, flor, fleur, flower

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: good
Escuchando: Re por Caf� Tacvba

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star