oohs and aahs
12.02.03 // 5:41 p.m.

Getting a new haircut over the long weekend and then showing up to work on Monday to comments of "wow, your hair looks great" and "you look cute!" is quite nice. There are the admirers too who are impressed my courage to chop off my hair. Then everyone asks the questions. When? Why? Have you had it this short before?

I don't know what to tell them, because I think they expect something profound about how I wanted to change my hair to correspond with some kind of change in my life. Nope. I just felt like doing something different... and I wanted attention at a low price.

It worked.

======

In other news, I'm not feeling so stressed about graduate applications. I showed my personal statement to Janet, the woman who runs the writing program here. She only had me change one thing and loved it. "What was your major?"

"Sociology and Chicana/o Studies."

"And you write so well in spite of it!"

She went on to explain that all the sociology majors she'd run across were horrible writers. I must be an exception. I let her know that any of the things I learned to strengthen my writing simply came through practice, reading a lot of fiction and non-fiction, and creative writing courses.

Compliments are nice.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: tummy ache
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star