mi hermano mayor
12.08.03 // 6:01 p.m.

Danny's birthday is on Wednesday. I have an interesting relationship with my brother. If we did not have the same parents and be forced to know each other by growing up in the same house, I probably wouldn't be friends with him. Does that sound mean? I hope not. See, it's complicated.

Danny and I were very close as kids. We're only 16 months apart in age and a grade apart in school. Naturally, our parents sent us to the same schools and enrolled us in the same after school programs. We played on the A's baseball team in Little League and danced together in Mexican fokl�rico groups. We were both in the children's choir at church and the high school marching band. As he was a little older, and more popular, I often came to be known as "Danny's sister." It didn't bug me too much. As a kid and a teen, I was pretty shy. Danny balanced that all out. He's a people person and makes friends with everyone.

Anyway, things changed through high school and then even more when I moved out to go to school. I guess I looked down on Danny. I thought he was dumb or something because he wasn't in the same honors and AP classes that I took. I didn't really see all that my brother had to offer folks, and in some ways I resented him for things he did when we were younger. I didn't really like him. I didn't think we had things in common, and he annoyed me.

I've grown and he's grown since then. I see my brother in a different light. I see why so many people love him so much. He cares about you and makes you special, even if it seems that no one else does. He's excited and enthusiastic about everything he does, and it's contagious.

I see Danny a lot more now than I did while I was in school. I spend most of my weekends in Hacienda Heights at my parent's house.

When I returned from Boston, Danny picked me up. As a thank you (and because I didn't bring him anything back!), I took him out to dinner at a local Oaxacan restaurant. I learned a lot more about my brother then and regretted the fact that for the last 5 years or so, I really haven't had a substantial conversation with him.

I guess what I want to say is that I need to stop undervaluing the people who are closest to me.

Love you, Danny. Happy [early] 25th Birthday.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: sappy
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star