I talk too much
04.16.02 // 11:20 p.m.

I just made some changes to my page. If you notice, at the bottom there is a �comments� section where you can reply to a specific entry. I don�t know if anyone will use this, but its there. You�ll also get two brownie points for giving me your feedback.

In other news� I think I talk too much in class, or at least in Chicana/o Studies 101. In most classes I rarely speak up because I�m not prepared. I�m always behind on the reading. I�m behind on the reading for 101 too, but the material is something I'm very familiar. Plus, I�m very comfortable in the class and with Profe Mac�as.

As he gives his lecture he asks questions about the readings and tries to get us to think critically about the material. The questions aren�t too difficult, but no one ever answers him. Its like if he was the teacher in Ferris Bueller�s Day Off. Bueller? Bueller? Anyone know what the importance of mestizaje was for the Chicano movement? Anyone? �Nadie?

So then I raise my hand. He nods to me. I give my answer. �Yes! That�s it!� People look at me like I�m smart. And I think, its common sense, why don�t you all answer?

By the end of the lecture I�ve answered � of his questions including the ones about why American history starts with the foundation of the Jamestown colony in Virginia in 1607 (which I only know because of the song in Pocahontas). By that point I had also made the decision to shut up and let other folks answer some of the questions. I don�t want to seem like the know it all who sits in the front (though I am *snicker*).

I love Profe. Think about the most compassionate, kind, understanding, funny, down-to-earth professor you�ve ever met and that�s Profe. I stopped by his office once last quarter and he noted that I looked stressed and started asking me about the load I had with classes, work, internship, USAC, family, etc. He was really supportive and told me that if I needed anything to ask him. It helps that he was a Mechista and understands what it is like to be a student activist unlike some of the other professors in the Ch�vez center. Profe is the kind of professor I would like to be.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star