Cross-dressing
03.04.02 // 9:53 p.m.

I have to dress as a boy and actually pass as one.

I could kick myself now for enrolling in the sociology of gender course. Its not that the subject doesn�t matter to me, but frankly the course seemed like an intro to issues of gender. I look at these all the time in other classes, especially when they�re more relevant to me. The course itself isn�t bad� I just complain because of the amount of work to do, and all I get is four measly units in exchange.

Some of the assignments have been fun. I went through kids stores and looked at how kids are socialized to learn the �appropriate� ways to act, dress, and play as one gender or other.

Then I did a project called the �looking glass self.� In this one I spent 20 minutes looking at myself in the mirror with �beginner�s eyes;� the next part I had to spend 10 minutes � privately, of course � looking at myself naked and then another 10 minutes in the nude. There is a difference because naked is a subject and nude is an object. When you�re nude, you�re conscious of it, but naked is nothing. You shower naked, not really thinking anything of it, but when you�re with someone (like in an intimate setting) you�re nude. The final part of the project was to go 24 hours without looking at yourself in the mirror, which is just as hard as it sounds.

For the third project I interviewed a male and female involved in an intimate relationship. I liked this one, �cause my interview with George was very insightful. For the fourth project I had the option of going out to a gay and lesbian club and writing about it or checking out a �gendered magazine,� such as Bitch or The Advocate.

In addition to the projects, I have weekly one-page journals, and two 5-7 pages papers based on the course readings. The write-ups for the projects were all about 3-4 pages.

The final is the most interesting and time-consuming though. For this one I have to spend a day with my small group learning to become the gender I don�t usually go as, and then go out in public to see if I pass.

Its field studies at its best and worst. The idea is interesting, but I really don�t want to dress up as a boy. I think it�s going to be uncomfortable, literally. What am I supposed to do with my long hair? What about my breasts? I guess I can flatten them out with a good sports bra. How about facial hair? Will I have to draw that on? My voice, mannerisms, etc are all going to have to be changed so I can pass.

I don�t think I really need this project to understand that gender is an accomplishment, but it�s too late to get out of it. Wish me luck. I need to do well in this class to keep my GPA from dropping anymore.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star