i'm clever
08.12.03 // 12:53 a.m.

Can I brag for a second?

Why am I asking, this is my space.

So, today was the first day of the four week staff training. For 4 hours a day I'll be working to get my staff ready for the academic year. It's actually pretty intense and make's my life for those four weeks very stressful.

As usual, we began with introductions of all the people in the room. The staffs of all the programs in the SRC get together for training, so most days you have about 40 to 45 people in the room. The get to know exercise was a simple one. All it entailed was interviewing the person next to you, then having her do the same, and then introducing each other.

So, we go around the huge circle and each pair takes turn introducing each other. At the end, Mandla, the facilitator challenges someone in the room to name all 45 people in the circle. No one volunteers, so I do.

I start off with Toni to my left and go all around the circle until I get to Theresa who was sitting directly to my right. It takes me a minute or two do it with ease.

I sit down and everyone looks at me with a look of bewilderment, like I'm some type of freak. Later during the break they exclaim, "how did you do that? That was amazing!"

I answer to my admirers that it wasn't too hard. I kinda cheated. Of all 45 or so people in the circle there were maybe 5 or 6 that I didn't already know. Even with my explanation, they still found it amazing.

Yeah, I got maaaad skills. I did the same thing in director's training half the people but instead we had to match names to brief descriptive phrases - such as "Carson native, military brat" - to names. That was easy.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: smart
Escuchando: Mama's Gun by Ms Badu

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star