how i got to ucla, part 3
11.21.04 // 12:13 a.m.

Search Stage, part 3 in a series on my college choice.
Part one
Part two

Strong factors: Ability, parental encouragement, socioeconomic status, institutional characteristics

Did these factors play a big role as the literature suggests? Yes.

[Note: I adapted most of this from a piece I wrote for my Race, Ethnicity, and Gender seminar.]

By the time senior year rolled around, I was set to attend a four-year college like most of my classmates. When I expressed my intention to apply to five colleges (three University of California campuses and the other two private research universities) to my mother, I found that she disapproved. Her main reason centered on the immense cost of a college education.

At the time, my father had been unemployed for a few months and my family�s income had dropped significantly. Another reason she presented to me was that she doubted I would be able to face the rigors of college without my family. She cited a situation during the summer in which I called her from Scotland in tears. I was on vacation with my older brother and high school friends. It was a low pressure situation, but I still could not handle being away from my parents.

She asked me to consider attending the local community college, Mount San Antonio College, for two years and then transferring. Not only could I carpool with my brother, but I would also have time to mature and save thousands of dollars in tuition and expenses living on campus. I know my mother meant well, but I could not change my plans. I felt that my high school education, along with several units of Advanced Placement credit, had prepared me well for a university education. As mom saw that I was serious about attending a four-year college and without leaving California she supported me.

Although neither one of my parents had attended a university, they did everything they could to support me. They paid the fees for tests and applications, drove me to schools and supported my involvement on campus and in the community.

As I began the application process, I did not know how race or ethnicity would affect me. I was unaware that affirmative action was banned at state schools. In each application I filled out, I checked the �Mexican, Mexican American, Chicana/o� box. My personal statement focused largely on how I overcame economic hardships with my family after the auto dealership where my father worked closed its doors. The one thing I did pay careful attention to in the brochures from each school was the number of Chicana/o and Latina/o students attending; even then I knew that as a first generation student I would need to the support of others like me to succeed.

The spring of 1998 was a rough time as I battled the onset of severe senioritis, patiently awaited responses from the universities I applied to, and fretted about financial aid. Each morning, I would read the Los Angeles Times and find articles on the effect of the UC Regents� ban on affirmative action in admissions at the flagship universities of the UC. According to the articles, there had been a sharp decrease in the number of underrepresented minorities admitted to UC Berkeley and UCLA. I still had not received my letters from either school, but was nervous that I would not be one of the 1,001 and Chicana/o and Latina/o students admitted for fall 1998.

The first response from a college I received was from the University of Southern California. I was admitted and offered a scholarship, but still doubted whether or not I could afford such a school when my family was going through economic hardship.

The second letter that arrived was in a small envelope. It was from University of California, San Diego. To my dismay, I had not been admitted. The shock was too much for me and I fell into despair. Through tears, I expressed to my parents that I expected to be denied admission to the more competitive UC campuses, UCLA and Berkeley. That would mean my only option would be one I could not afford, USC.

As you may know, it didn�t turn out that way. On a calm March afternoon, I received the letter from UCLA. Surprisingly, I was admitted. A few days, later I received a similar letter from UC Berkeley and my self confidence was restored.

The decision to attend UCLA was a difficult one. I did not just look at the prestige of the school and the academic programs, but I also looked at the support services and assessed how comfortable I felt on the campus.

I ruled out USC after visiting the campus. The students who stayed overnight with me seemed like they came from another world, one of affluence and privilege. I, on the other hand, would only be able to afford the $31,000 a year university through a package of scholarships, grants, loans and work-study. I also felt that the campus was too white and did not reflect the diversity I had grown accustomed to in my hometown. In addition, I did not find any specific support services for underrepresented minorities. I know that such centers exist on many college campuses, but my student guide did not point out such resources.

My visits to UCLA had the opposite effect on me; I felt I belonged at the Westwood campus. After being admitted, I was invited to several events held by the Latino Alumni Association in which I interacted with alumni and other students trying to make the same decision. Since my peers and I were part of a class in which 30% fewer Chicanas/os and Latinas/os had been admitted, we were recruited with more enthusiasm. I also attended the Spring Conference held by the Academic Advancement Program, a support service for first generation and low income students. At the AAP conference, I met incoming and continuing students I could relate to. My positive impression with AAP informed my decision to attend UCLA because I was confident I would have the institutional support I would need to succeed.

I didn�t choose UCLA because I received the best financial aid package (USC tried to �buy� me with a near full ride scholarship) or because it was the best school I got into (Berkeley is considered the best UC campus). I chose UCLA because after I visited each school, I found that it was the only campus where I actually felt comfortable.

After seeing the numbers of Chicana/o and Latina/o students admitted and being appalled at the drop, I made a firm decision to attend a school where people looked like me and shared similar experiences. I wanted to have friends whose parents were immigrants, who were the first to attend a four year college, and knew what it was like to be the exception. Most of all, I wanted to be at a school that reflected � to a certain extent � the immense diversity of the state and city I lived in.

Addendum:
I applied to the five schools (UCLA, UC Berkeley, UC San Diego, Stanford and USC) because they had strong academic recognition, were in California, and based on my qualifications I thought I had a good chance of being admitted. I might have applied to more UC campuses, but I couldn�t afford it. Since my family had financial issues at the time, I qualified for an application fee waiver good for up to three schools. The UC application is the same for all undergrad campuses; you just check a different box.

In terms of the actual mechanics of applying, I navigated most on my own. My English teacher had us write our personal statement for the UC application as an assignment, so that helped. My teachers and guidance counselor also helped by writing recommendation letters for applications and scholarships. We had a career center, and some visits from the college recruiters. I specifically remember a session with someone from UCLA. The school district sponsored a college fair early in the fall which helped me get information from different schools. For financial aid, we had FAFSA workshops and the counselors publicized scholarships that were available.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: cold
Escuchando: the dryer, again

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star