canas
03.23.03 // 9:16 p.m.

I'm only 22 years old, and I already have way too many canas (grey hairs). At last count, I had about a dozen, and that was after friends or family members insisted on pulling them out.

I've come to terms with mis canas. They no longer bother me, and I kind of like them. When my staff members stand over me at the computer and find one where my hair parts, they make a big fuss out of it. "That hair is because of you," I tell them alluding to the fact that my job, and consequently my staff, give me lots of stress.

The canas are like little battle scars, for all the stress I'm under. Plus, I know they're genetic as both my mom and dad's heads have been turning grey for some years now. I hate when friends or family insist on pulling them out. Superstition has it that for each cana you pull out, three will sprout in its place.

What I like most about mis canas is that it shows signs of aging. Hey, I'm 22, not 17! I still have a huge complex about looking young, but I've grown accustomed to it. I am constantly asked, "Hey, if you don't mind me asking, how old are you?" I always through the question back at them and make them guess. Most times, they guess in the late teens. On rare occasions, they guess right around the early 20s, but that's only because they know I've graduated college or I can order drinks at a bar.

Yup, I also always get carded. It's never just a quick glance of my driver's license. I've had them ask me when my birthday is. I've had bouncers hold the card to my face and analyze it for a few seconds. Then there's the little machine to check if it's a real card.

"Look, I have canas!" I want to tell them. "My license is legit, and look, it says 21 in 2001, and now its 2003... so I can order a drink dammit!"

�Qu� iron�a! I'm going grey, yet everyone still thinks I'm in high school.

c/s

Comments: 3 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: fresh
Escuchando: the oscar post-show

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star