a night with Cosme, Quique, Joselo, y Memo
11.30.02 // 12:23 p.m.

I'm sore from last night. I have at least one visible bruise on my right arm, and I can feel more coming along. By the end of the night, my toes hurt like crazy from being stepped on, I was sweaty (probably a lot of which wasn't even mine, eww), I smelled like beer, and my throat was a little sore from all the singing.

It was all worth it though, to see Caf� Tacvba again after more than two years. Without a doubt, they're still my favorite band in the world. They performed almost all my favorites and a bunch of new stuff from their new EP Vale Callampa. I was a little scared at first. I think the second song they played was "Como te extra�o coraz�n." I freaked because I was up in the front and everyone kept on pushing me away with the people I came with. I ended up in the middle of a bunch of huge sweaty guys and tried to duck when they threw people in the air so I wouldn't get kicked or anything. I probably panicked a little too much, but I was more pissed because I couldn't even enjoy my favorite band playing one of my favorite songs. Oh well, after that I just started fighting my way through crowd, pushing away people who were a little too close and jumping around and dancing to songs like "La Chilanga Banda," "Las Flores" and so many more.

The lowlights:
1. Waiting about 3 hours for them to perform. Doors opened at 8 and they didn't come out on the stage until 10!
2. Being behind tall, beastly men.
3. Being next to some girl singing really bad and really loud. I came to hear Caf� Tacvba, no?
4. Bumping into the guys wearing leather or some other material that sticks to skin, ugh.

The highlights:
1. When they performed "Las Flores" in their encore set. I didn't even realize that they hadn't played it, despite it being my favorite Caf� Tacvba song.
2. The medley/potpourri of other rock en espa�ol hits by some of my favorite bands of the genre including "Pachuco by Maldita Vecindad, "Lamento Boliviano" by Enanitos Verdes, "Dormir So�ando" by el Gran Silencio, "Viento" by Caifanes, "Bolero Falaz" by Aterciopelados, "Matador" by Los Fabulosos Cadillacs, "Triste canci�n de Amor" by El Tri, and more that escape my memory.
3. Surviving in the melee.
4. Spending time with a lot of good friends and seeing some I haven't seen a while after/during the show (including the Mexican and Chicana/o literature professor I wrote my paper on Caf� Tacvba's Re for).
5. When Cosme (he goes by 10 other aliases), the lead singer took of his half-face rooster mask at the end of the show.

Comments: 2 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: sore
Escuchando: Vale Callampa by Caf� Tacvba

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star