adios dos mil dos
01.08.03 // 7:38 p.m.

Usually when I sit back and try to review my year (which was pretty well documented here, just hit up the archives) I try and assess different parts of my life. I look at school, work, organizations, activism, family, friends, boys, and anything else that took up a significant amount of time and energy. I don't think I�ll do that with 2002 though, because I don�t see the need.

As soon as the clock struck midnight on January 1, 2003 I said "happy new year" to the folks around me, the redhead gave me a kiss on the cheek, I hugged a few other folks and then snuck away. I wasn't even in the room when the deejay played Stevie Wonder's classic, "Sir Duke." I hid in a dark room, leaning on a suitcase, and drinking my glass of champagne for the first 20 minutes or so of 2003 before joining the party at Dwine�s spot again.

Why? Well, I was just really glad that 2002 was over. I don't know if it was a bad year, but I was definitely glad to see it end. There were just too many changes and heartache, some of which I'm still dealing with. I had some milestones though, learned a lot about myself once again, and now have a better idea of what I'd like to dedicate my life to. I know where my priorities lie, and am still going through the process of letting the most important people in my life � family and my closest friends � know the real me.

I don't know what the rest of 2003 has in store for me... I don't even know what I really want to get out of it. Last year I had 15 goals, some of which I met and some which I didn't (more on that later). This year, I'll keep it simple: manage my money and my health better. I could break this down into one of those goals, objectives and methodology things I do like I do when I write a budget proposal, but I need more time.

About those 2002 goals, how did I do? Go here to read them.

1. Yeah, I did become more financially independent. I got my own accounts, but I still don�t have a credit card, which is probably a good thing.

2. I figured out what I wanted to do after graduation, and I did it. Now I know I want to apply to grad school for Fall 2004.

3. I graduate cum laude, but I was still a horrible student.

4. I didn�t complete the grad school application process and instead applied for Teach for America and my current job. I got a better sense of what I wanted to do after I really examined my motivation.

5. I definitely did not pray more, and after Yo�s bout with depression and suicide attempt I kind of got disillusioned with church. I now go pretty much when I�m at home to avoid conflicts with the parents.

6. I have improved in being more honest and open with my parents, but there is still so much I don�t tell them, plus they don�t ask.

7. Keeping in contact with friends depends on which �friends.� Let�s just say I�ve grown closer with some and drifted away from others. I guess that�s what happens, but I really don�t mind to tell you the truth. I�m happy with the people I call friends now.

8. I still don�t eat well, sleep well or exercise regularly. Oh yeah, I have benefits I need to use. Time for a check up! This one is on the list for 2003.

9. I still don�t really know how to cook much� maybe now that I spend more time at my parent�s house and am working on managing my money better I�ll be inspired to stay in and cook rather than eat out so much.

10. I never bought a computer. I guess I still don�t really need one, and I got a new car with a CD player. I miss Computer Blue, it cost me less.

11. I definitely could have done a better job in my leadership positions and involvement on campus last year. I didn�t have my heart in it, quickly got disillusioned and ended up with a bad taste in my mouth. At least I got a stipend and guaranteed parking!

12. Punctuality, well I have definitely improved on this during the week, but I still am late for work things and other things with family. (I missed my cousin�s wedding in February� oops.)

13. Yes, I have been writing more for the fun of it and after school ended I�ve been reading more for the fun of it. Two points for me.

14. I didn�t do this one, but not �cause I didn�t want to, but because I couldn�t with work and school schedules. My family from Guanajuato did come here and I spent some time with them which was nice. I still need to go out there.

15. Um� well, I know I did get much closer to Dom. In fact, I fell in love with him, but then we broke up and the last few months of the year our relationship was pretty strained. I still love him, and he�s still one of my best friends, but its one of those relationships that takes a lot of hard work and maturity to maintain. I can do it, I think.

So, I think I partially or completely met 10 of those goals (two thirds, not too bad), one became not applicable after I decided against that path, and I didn�t meet 4 of them. Not so bad.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: missed
Escuchando: "at your best" by aaliyah

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star