short brown hair and stuff revisited
05.15.03 // 11:32 p.m.

The most memorable reactions to my new, much shorter haircut (about a foot of my hair was chopped off on Saturday by my Tia Luisa):

1. Valerie, my almost 8 year old cousin and sunshine of my life:
You cut your hair didn't you? [Me: yeah.] You don't look like you.

2. Chispa, best friend:
So, Chispa was one of the handful of people I told that I was going to take the scissors to my long hair, but for some reason she still reacted the way she did. On Monday in the office, while I put some files away in one of the desk drawers we made some small talk. She was at the computer, so she barely paid any attention to me. Then, she turned to see me and jumped in her chair as if she was scared. She touched her heart and said, "You cut your hair!" Damn, I thought I looked kind of cute.

3. KimTo, a director in the office and good friend:
I'm sure she had seen me during the week, but she probably hadn't noticed. So, tonight after the announcement of the student government election results she got a good look at me. She touched the ends of my hair and said, "You're beautiful." Aw, that's why I like KimTo.

I think part of the fun in getting a pretty drastic hair cut is the reaction from friends and family. In the past week I heard a lot of "wows," compliments like "your hair looks really cute, and folks stating the obvious, "you cut your hair!" Then there were the questions, "Why did you do it?" and the laments, "Your hair was so long, and so beautiful." I think they miss it more than me. Finally, there were the contradictions, "You look younger with short hair" and "You look older."

Yeah, I like the reactions, I'm still waiting for more since there are plenty of folks I haven't seen who've only known me with long hair or have been used to seeing me with the long tresses for the past couple of years. (I expect more from Diaryland folks when I post before and after pictures.)

I'm very happy with this new 'do. It's easier to work with than the hair that was almost down to my waist. I don't even have to go through the short period of getting accustomed through the short hair since I know very well what it feels like. I missed my short brown hair and stuff.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: bien
Escuchando: la television

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star