bolitas rojas
01.28.05 // 12:21 a.m.


Est� rota

My favorite beaded bracelet broke in the middle of Education 209c, Research and Evaluation in Higher Education. One moment I was paying attention to the discussion on outcome measures and the next something felt wrong. The normally tight fitting bracelet was loose and tiny red beads were slipping off the string on to the table.

I did what I could to salvage the loop that attaches to the bolita. As you can see, the bracelet is still in tact, except for the loop. I spent the next few moments ignoring the professor and trying to knot the string to prevent losing more beads.

The bracelet is a gift from Isa. She brought it with her from Guatemala three years ago. She went during spring break to visit her boyfriend in the Peace Corps. She got to see her boyfriend, and I got a really great gift. I've always loved beads, the color red, and artesan�as t�picas. So, I was very happy with the gift she brought.

Since then, I wore the bracelet a lot. I even bought more red clothes to match. Now, I have more red tops that anything else. I've bought more beaded bracelets, but the red one is still my favorite. Some are not as wide, and I have them in different colors. When I went to M�xico this summer, I kept my eyes peeled for them in every artesan�a store I visited. I finally found several pretty ones in Morelia, Michoac�n that I brought back as gifts for my sister and cousins.

I told Pato about the bracelet.

Pato: was it already falling apart?
Me: no, it was really surprising.
Pato: nooh, that means someone is throwing bad energy at you.
Me: what do you mean?
Pato: Well, Isa gave you that bracelet, no?
Me: Yeah, well the mujer who was leading the sweat mentioned that if you have a traditional gift from one of our home countries, like the bracelet, and it breaks without showing signs of tear it's a sign that someone is throwing bad energy at you.
Me: you're kidding.
Pato: I'm serious.

I can believe Pato, or I can follow Arshad's logic that sometimes old things show some waer and tear. He makes a lot more sense.

Who would want to throw bad energy my way? Everybody loves me, right?

Comments: 3 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: buzzed
Escuchando: "pastilla" por pastilla

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star