bella
02.25.03 // 8:53 p.m.

"I'm too fly not to fly."
(c) Saul Williams

Do you ever sit around, look at yourself in the mirror, and think, 'damn! I'm beautiful!'

Well, I do, and it's not because I'm vain and proud. I was thinking today about my concept of beauty and had to admit that I do think I am beautiful, even if I don't always feel like it. Why? Well, when I look at my parents and the rest of my family I think, how can I not be if those are the people I share genes with? They made me, I must be beautiful!

Also, how I perceive myself is not based entirely on how other people see me, but it does have some effect. So, coming from a sociology point of view, I know that if someone tells you that you are ugly, fat, smart, or dumb, you come to see yourself as that. Maybe it doesn't happen in every case, but I know when people saw me as a gifted child I figured I had to live up to that label. Back to beauty, I'm told every so often by people who's opinions I really value that I'm beautiful, cute, pretty, etc. It's not just my mom or dad, but friends and significant others. This means a lot to me, maybe more than it should, but it's still nice, especially on those days when I'm feeling particularly bleh.

So... I'm beautiful for all these reasons and more. Smiles.

-+-+-+-+-

For Ray if you want more info on the Velvet Teen, check them out at their website or listen to some of their tunes at slowdance records. I recommend "Counting Backwards" (it's a personal favorite). I'm horrible at describing what bands sound like, especially when it comes to comparisons.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: bella
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star