antes yo cre�a en el imperio de la cabeza
08.04.04 // 12:35 a.m.

I�m going through CPO withdrawal. Hell, I�m going through withdrawal from just being on campus.

I miss the people most. I went back for a few minutes last Wednesday and everyone was like, �you�re back!� I miss the usual folks, Deedo, Roses, Robin, Mel, Jojo, Jerry, Ghaith, etc. I even miss Tim yelling at me and saying, �Mo----da woman!�

It�s a fun place to be.

I miss my students too. I miss just having conversations with them, asking them questions about what is going on in their lives. I miss helping them come up with solutions and chastising them when they party too much and don�t study enough.

I even miss some of my old staff� even the ones who gave me headaches. They were all good people. I know I didn�t tell them enough that they were doing something right.

I miss the campus. It�s beautiful year-round, but the tranquility surrounding the place in the summer afternoons is wonderful. I sit outdoors on one of the grassy hills or steps facing the plaza outside the building and just think. At the time, I imagine that everything and everyone else in the sprawling city is going crazy, except me.


I wrote that Friday, and since then I�ve returned to campus. I had an orientation I needed to attend for a funding board I�ll serve on this upcoming year. As I arrived to the Lot 4, I found Deedo and Shona on their way out to margarita Mondays at Acapulco�s. I didn�t go by my old office, or even enter the building.

I�m trying to wean myself from that place and just get used to the fact that I don�t work there anymore.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: fine
Escuchando: "soy o estoy" por caf� tacuba

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star