and i'll take to the sky on a natural high
08.11.04 // 7:25 p.m.

Day three in the mother land.

I keep thinking I'm going to run into some big drug dealers because, well, this is Sinaloa. But, there are no visible drug dealers around. In fact, every one I've met is quite nice. It might just be because I'm cute or because they can smell the US citizen who has money on me. Yup... that might be it too.

I flew today and spent some time swimming in the relatively calm Pacific ocean waters. It was no where as rough as the beaches back home, which is probably a good thing because I would have been much too nervous to go in as far as I did if I didn't know there was a lifeguard sitting in his tower keeping a watchful eye.

When I say that I flew I mean it. Well, I got as close as most humans get to being free as a bird. I paid a guy on the beach 250 pesos to put a life jacket on me, put me in a harness, attach me to a parachute, and let a speed boat tug me around the ocean waters.

Tony, my cousin, had done it before and convinced me that it was great and easy. I checked out others doing the same thing and knew if they could do it, so could I.

Tony went with me, took pictures and taped it all.

I was so high up that I could see the top of the hotels (12-13 stories!). I could see all along the coast and further inland. It was amazing. If I've ever had an incredible natural high, then that was it. Who needs drugs when you can just fly?

Coming down was really easy. I didn't even have to tug because I was in a good position and the guys who are there catch you. If you're ever in Mazatl�n and have the opportunity to do the parachute thing, do it!

Okie dokie... I have some pics. (I was going to just put them here, but this place is cold and I've already been here long enough... so you can check out the yahoo photo album. Enjoy!

Comments: 3 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: amazing
Escuchando: una telenovela

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star