little life memories
04.28.03 // 8:59 p.m.

I like to know what I was as a baby a lot. I'm fascinated by them and I would love to be able to play with the baby version of me. Yeah, I know it's not possible, but it's still fun to imagine.

Back in the day before camcorders and digital cameras my parents used something to record us at a birthday party. I don't even remember what it's called, but I know one of my parent's friends transferred the film to VHS and we watched a video of ourselves playing at a birthday party. Unlike kids nowadays, I can't do that though. All I have are pictures and my parents, aunts, uncles, grandparents and some older cousins to tell me what I was like in my "giggles" stage.

From what I gather:

1. I was a really good kid. I wasn't berrinchuda or bratty, but agreeable and friendly. I respected my elders and for that I think I was la preferida for a while.

2. I loved mango (and still do!). My mom would strip me down to my diaper (cloth not disposable!) and give me a peeled mango to feast on. Now, I'm sad to say, I eat mangos fully dressed.

3. I was [a] smart(ass)... and still am.

4. I talked a lot. I used to talk so much in kindergarten and first grade that my mom would get complaints from my teachers. Her rationale for it? Well, when I was so smart I finished my work quickly and then just got bored.

5. I was a tomboy but I loved dance too. I played baseball with my brother in the summer and in the fall my mom would enroll me in dance classes. I'd always play with my boy cousins, but still was hooked on Strawberry Shortcake and Rainbow Brite.

6. I was hella cute (don't know what happened).

7. I was moody and a crybaby. Okay, so I was a sensitive kid, and still am. I had a desire to please as a kid that I still have. I never wanted anyone to be mad at me or not like me. I got in my moods too, sometimes I was just sad, I have pictures of it.

That's it... I uploaded a bunch of pictures from my little life, but I'll just post two.


When I used to wear makeup. Well, as a gitana/gypsy dancer, it was required to wear it. Secu liked this one.


So, at my first birthday party I passed out. I don't think the bottle of Jos� Cuervo had anything to do with it.

Comments: 5 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: cool
Escuchando: kinky

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star