april haikus
04.30.05 // 5:02 p.m.

Wowsers. I'm actually posting April haikus while we're still in April.

I made a goal to write one daily. I've kept to it, and have been posting them here at the end of each month. This time around, I removed some I had written. Damn self-censorship. I got to keep some things for the supersecret blog.

4.01
Opposites conspire
To deceive those who read blog
Everyone is tricked

Red Sox obsession
Threatens strong relationship
Miracle occurs

4.02
Pope John Pual II
Lost battle with his body
Catholics worldwide mourn

Isa before...

First time smoking out
Leads to an asthma attack
Inhaler saves day

Adrian named his Ford Ranger

4.03
Women leans over
Compliments "drummer-boy friend"
Sister's very proud

4.04
You like me too much
Insist that I'm nearly perfect
Then say we're just friends

4.05
Opening day game
Lost by my beloved Dodgers
Will season be good?

4.06
Four candidates meet
Makeup raza student slate
Hope to win office

4.07
Prospective student
Asks about my advisor
I don't wanna share

4.08
Late night guests arrive
Already in altered state
I feel uneasy

Crowds in giant square
Attend Pope's funeral Mass
Say final goodbyes

4.09
Come from behind win
Replay of last season's games
There better be more. I hope.

4.10
Sopes rellenos
De chorizo con papa
Que bueno sabor

4.11
Eating habits suck
Breakfast, lunch frequently missed
Reason for headaches

4.12
Giants bullpen chokes
They need Gagn�-like closer
But just one exists

4.13
Submit petition
Candidacy's official
Make GSA GREAT!

Nancy in black... what a surprise

4.14
Tall and pale Nancy
Ends teenage years of her life
Happy birthday, cuz

Only for the first 50,000

4.15
Pregame show honors
Legacy of black athlete
Paved way for many

New and old faces

Complete game by Lowe
Three hits and no runs allowed
I like the new ace

4.16
Avoid studying
In favor of Dodger game
I need discipline

Daddy's girl

4.17
Father calls me child
Even though I'm all grown up
I'm still daddy's girl

4.18
Crosstabs confuse me
The professor disapproves
Don't think she likes me

4.19
Fanon's written word
On decolonization
Resonates with me

4.20
Ex boss makes faces
Rudeness comes through in meeting
I never liked her

Coming soon...

4.21
Work on blog setup
Blog still needs to be tweaked out
It should look okay

4.22
Grad student housing
Has really tiny bedrooms
Glad I passed up chance

Circus or university?

4.23
Dozens of bookstores
Set up shop on my campus
Tough, but I resist

4.24
Ralphie sets new goal
To have kid by thirtyfour
Time is running out

4.25
Unexpected call
From el Daily Texican
Reminds me I'm strong

4.26
Last minute meeting
For elections strategies
Odds are against us

The view from behind home plate

4.27
Old friends from St. John's
In blue seats behind home plate
Pray for Dodger win

?uestlove on the drums

4.28
Roots crew from Philly
Fills plaza with real hip hop
Students enjoy show

Shmoozing at GradBar
Got politician hat on
Trade smiles for votes

4.29
Last DAP prep session
Still not stressed out by exam
It's just twelve pages

4.30
Discover new bands
Thanks to fellow blogeros
"It's fuckin' awesome"*
Quote thanks to C�sar who really isn't that ching�n

More haikus:
January
February
March

Comments: 5 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: mischievous
Escuchando: kcrw - npr news

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star