mentirosa (c) mellow man ace
04.05.05 // 2:27 a.m.

And I wonder why people tell me I look young
Could this face tell a lie?

Hey, so do you want to know a secret? Who am I kidding? Of course you do. You read the blog of someone you've [probably] never met. You're inherently chismoso/a.

My last post highlighted the best (in my opinion) and worst of bipartisanship: a strong, healthy relationship across political lines; and cooperation to deliberately deceive.

Alfonso (aka Hispanic Pundit) and I are punks. We lied. Yes, it was all just an April Fool's Day joke.

No somos novios. He's not my boyfriend. I'm not his girlfriend. We're just friends.

Just friends.

Man, I love those two words.

I'm a horrible liar, so most of what I wrote on April Fool's Day was true.

Fact:
I like Mexican men, but I'm not sure they like me. Oh yeah, and I haven't seriously dated one in a while.

Fact:
The backstory about my siblings and cousins all being paired up. It's weird when that happens, because they all look at me weird.

Fiction:
I didn't have a boyfriend to bring home.

Fact:
I did give Alfonso a pseudonym in a previous post. All that stuff about Max was true. The decision: he won't call me a libbie and I won't call him a fascist.

Fact:
If there was a Cupid, it would be Oso. I probably would never have come across Alfonso and his blog if it weren't for Oso's blog.

Fact:
Hispanic Pundit made a horrible first impression, but he grows on you... like fungus.

Fact:
Pretty much everything I wrote about our friendship and how we got to know each other. The picture of us was taken after our initial meeting and the harrowing tour of Compton.

Fiction:
"Just 'cause I really like Alfonso..."

Fact:
We do argue a lot, and I won't ever cheer for the other side. That would be like me becoming a Giants fan... it's not gonna happen. No se preocupen.

I'm surprised only Tank and Oso were the tiniest bit suspicious. I realized why some of you probably believed me. One, I'm pretty honest and straightforward with the things I write. Two, 90% of what I wrote was true. Three, Alfonso backed it up. Four, there was a picture to prove we actually know each other. And hey, we're smiling so we can't dislike each other that much.

Oh, there is a lesson to learn from all of this: Republicans are not all evil trolls. Some are nice. Plus, they buy you dinner and shoes (if you're lucky).

Comments: 15 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: deceptive
Escuchando: lento - caf� tacuba

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star