my needs are not being met
04.10.05 // 10:10 p.m.

Home sweet home
My home, also known as where I do laundry

In November of 1978, just a few weeks before my brother was born, my parents moved into a brown house on a street named after a coffee brand. Twenty-six years later the family has grown and we've changed various aspects of the house, but we're still there.

A few weeks before my 18th birthday, I moved out of the room I shared with Lori and into a tiny room in a residence hall at UCLA. For the nine or so months of my freshmand and sophomore years I lived in the dorms and moved back to Hacienda Heights during the summers.

A day or two after my 20th birthday, Danny and my cousin Ad�n packed my bed, some furniture and boxes of clothing and books I had not bothered to unpack after moving out of the dorms. We drove over to my new apartment with the bed of my padrino Oscar's truck full of stuff. I moved into the master bedroom of my apartment, and have been there since even as roommates come and go.

Why do I tell you all of this? Well, to make it clear to you that I am not the kind of person who is accustomed to, nor likes to, uproot and frequently move.

This extends beyond place of residence. I've never switched schools unless it was going from elementary to middle school, and middle school to high school. Since I could remember, my parents have always attended the same church two miles away from our home. I've been at UCLA since 1998 through my undergraduate studies, first full time job, and now in my graduate studies. Prior to my current job as a research analyst (not as fancy as it sounds), I had only worked two "real" jobs. And, I've been blogging at Diaryland since 2001. It seems as if only my relationships are not longlasting.

Finally... a point. I want out of my residency at Diaryland. There are several things I'm unhappy with, such as the too-frequent server crashes, losing images, inability to access my private entries (despite the fact that I have the password), lack of technical support even though I have a "Super Gold" membership, a non-functional RSS feed, and losing the design for my comments. The only real thing that was keeping me at Diaryland was imagehosting (I have that at flickr and my domain now), simplicity, a design I really liked, and the fact that I had paid for a year-long membership.

In two weeks or so, that membership will expire, and soon after I'll move Loter�a Chicana to it's new home. But first, I need to set up my blog at my domain. Hopefully, installing Wordpress won't be a headache and a half.

On another note, I'm now writing for Blogging.LA. Any suggestions on what my first post should be about?

Comments: 6 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: worn out
Escuchando: the last hour - elliott smith

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star