the conscious people's office
04.11.04 // 1:02 a.m.

I really shouldn't be amazed at the scope and level of things that alumni who once worked in the CPO are now doing. We're literally all over LA, California and the nation. I'm sure there are some who are even abroad.

The CPO is literally a training ground for folks going on to do "big things." It makes me proud just to be part of that community. I know it all started with agreeing to go out to a local high school to mentor and tutor youth. I joked that after that, I got "sucked in" to MEChA and got so involved it overwhelmed me at times... but it was all well worth it.

I don't want to sound conceited or anything, but part of the reason I didn't want to do Michigan's master's program is because sitting in on the class and talking to other students I saw myself as past their level. The work I've done gives me a great vantage point to ground all the theory in some concrete practice. For example, when I was in the curriculum in higher education course, I could have drawn on numerous experiences forming classes, changing curriculum in general education and Chicana/o studies, and the foundation of the Chavez Center.

I don't think I'll realize what a great place the CPO is until I leave it. And I will, in July. Sure, I'll only be a 2 minute walk away, but not working in the office is different.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: thankful
Escuchando: silencio

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star