in their words
01.12.03 // 4:58 p.m.

Comments from the students I counsel:
"Cindy rocks!"
"Cindy's da bomb!"
"I love my counselor!"
"Cindy is the BOMB!"

I'm serious, 4 of the 10 students that filled out evaluations actually wrote those comments. I laughed when I saw them, but at the same time, it feels nice. Actually, its really nice, like someone telling you that you're beautiful out of the blue when you least expect it. The past week has been pretty rough. I feel like I've been going non-stop since I touched down in LA early Monday morning.

I hear positive feedback all the time from my students. They say nice things to me, or I hear it from other people, but the notes are the best. I guess this is what makes all the headaches and late nights worth it. See, in my job where the goal is to get students to graduate, go out into their communities and work for social change,, you don't see results too quickly. Sure, one quarter you may go from academic probation to good standing, but that's not always the case. It takes months or maybe even years to see the end result. The results do come. Students take on leadership positions, come out of their shells to talk to professors or to speak up in class, and they work to improve relationships with people in their lives that do more harm than good.

Still... those four comments are the best thing I've read since Caramelo. I guess everyone needs some positive reinforcement once in a while.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: pressured (to go to church)
Escuchando: some perez prado tune, i forgot the title

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star