Quotes
10.11.02 // 6:11 p.m.

What other people said/wrote that struck me profoundly (or not).

On activism and service

"To be a student and not be a revolutionary is a contradiction."
- Salvador Allende, 1973

"At the risk of sounding ridiculous, a true revolutionary is guided by great feelings of love."
- Ernesto "Che" Guevara

"The end of all education should surely be service to others."
- Cesar E. Chavez

"An eye for an eye leaves the world blind."
- Gandhi

�You must be the change you wish to see in the world.�
- Gandhi

On words/palabras and writing.

"To the Nahuas, words were flowers, metaphors that gave birth to thoughts and actions."
- Jose Antonio Burciaga

"Does writing really matter? It is the hardest and the best question I`ve been asked anywhere... it matters, of course it matters."
- Julia Alvarez

On mujeres

"I have to say that the traditional role is kind of a myth. I think the traditional Mexican woman is a fierce woman."
- Sandra Cisneros

On love and relationships

Amor de lejos, amor de pendejos (loose translation: long distance love, fool�s love)
- Mexican dicho/proverb

"Two tongues that come together is not a French kiss, but bilingual love."
- Jose Antonio Burciaga

"Es tan corto el amor y tan largo el olvido.� (loose translation: love is so short and forgetting is so long)
- de "Puedo Escribir" por Pablo Neruda

"Quiero ser tuya. Only yours. Only you.
Quiero amarte. Atarte. Amarrarte.
Love the way a Mexican woman loves. Let
me show you. Love the only way I know how."
- from "You bring out the Mexican in Me" by Sandra Cisneros

All the following are from Sandra Cisneros` short story "Eyes of Zapata" in Woman Hollering Creek

"All I`ve wanted was words, that magic to soothe me a little, what you could not give me."

"How can a woman be happy in love? To love like this, to love as strong as we hate."

"I wanted to be, then, the one that you could not have."

"Because when you are gone I re-create you from memory."

Randoms�

"I do not regret the things I`ve done, but those that I did not do."
- Lucas in Empire Records

"I wouldn`t stress it, man... I`ll never forget the day when my great uncle Larry B. sat me down and said, `Caesar, guilt is a wasted emotion.`"
- Caesar to Huey in the Sunday May 7, 2000 Boondocks comic strip by Aaron McGruder

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star