8 again
07.27.02 // 11:25 p.m.

I'm tired. My parents just had their 25th wedding anniversary party. Plenty of friends and family were here. More to come on that.

Saturday-8: "A Person's Worth"

  1. What have you done in your life that has been of the greatest value to yourself and/or others in your personal opinion? Why do you feel this is a valuable contribution?
    I think it was just going to college and joining MEChA. I learned so much about myself, made some of the best friends I have in my life and decided that I want to use my life to help my community.

  2. Besides you family members, what person is the second most valuable person in your life and why are they of this value to you?
    Damn, this is a hard one. Right now, I think this person would be a tie between Chispa and Dominic. I've known Chispa for four years and she's always been very supportive of me. I can tell her anything, and she's never judgemental. We're very close. I value Dominic so much because of what he brings to my life. He makes me feel like I can do anything. Everything seems like its going to be okay when I'm with him.

  3. To whom do you feel you are worth the most and why do you think they value you so much?
    My parents, because they made me. They've got so much invested in me. They love me unconditionally and they are the people who will always be there for me. Second would be Yo, just 'cause we're as close as sisters can get.

  4. Without naming names, describe one person in your life who may be of the least value to you (Meaning describe in what ways they are probably not as valuable as others)? Why do you keep them around or what are some of their redeeming qualities?
    Justin. I don't know about his redeeming qualities, but I guess I still keep in touch with him because he'd make me laugh, and despite the shit that happened between us, I hoped we could still be friends.

  5. If you could do something to improve your value to a single person (excluding God or any other worshiped deities) who would it be? Why is their opinion important to you? How would you go about doing it?
    Hmmm... Well, I think I'd want to make sure that my parents thoughts of me being the perfect, she-can-do-no-wrong, daughter is true. It's not of course, and I fear that some day they will find out that I did some things. I just don't want to disappoint them. I don't want them to thing that they did something wrong in raising me. I want them to be proud and talk about me to their friends and colleaugues with pride. So, how would I do this? I guess either stop doing those things I know they wouldn't approve of or make sure they never hear about them.

  6. If you could do something to get more out of someone, make greater use of someone, make them more valuable to you, who would it be and why?
    It'd be Dominic. Well, because I think there's so much more that can happen with our relationship, but the distance really is an obstacle that's tough to overcome. I think I could use him more for his support.

  7. In the last 5 years, do you think you have become a more or less valuable part of the world around you? What about the last 10 years? What, if anything, has changed?
    Well, definitely more valuable. I now have a degree and all these skills (though a college education does not automatically make someone more valuable). I have the drive to change things for my community. I've grown a lot in the last five years. From the last ten years? Well, I was 12 then, but I've definitely matured, learned more, became more globally conscious and came out of my little bubble. I think I just realized that I had to do SOMETHING to make sure all those students who didn't make it to college could.

  8. What things, qualities, or characteristics do you use when determining the value of a person?
    I try to see how much they care about the world around them. I want to know that they're doing something. I'd like them to be critical thinkers, and have excellent taste in music and be brave enough to use their talents. I'd like that person to have the guts to stand up to injustices he or she sees. They don't have to know everything, but be willing to learn. I value people who make me feel valued too.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: satisfied
Escuchando: nada

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star