2004 in review, part 2
12.22.04 // 9:12 p.m.

I went through over 200 entries in this blog to come up with this list of over 65 things I've learned and/or re-learned this past year. In order (sort of):

  1. My ex, the Redhead, has a girlfriend, and he's quite happy with her.
  2. I love San Francisco, but living in the city would probably make me see the city in a more realistic and less romantic view. In short, I don't think I ever want to live there.
  3. I don't have a "type."
  4. My mouth can get me into trouble, and I need to learn to think a little bit before I speak. This one seemed to be a theme for the year.
  5. Cancer really sucks. I miss my Madrina Bertha. �C�mo se dice adios cuando el camino a�n no se ha recorrido? No ser� adios sino hasta luego.
  6. I made a difference in the lives of the students I counseled, if only for a short time.
  7. Pap� Chepe and Mam� Ton�, my grandparents, cheat when they play Barrel of Monkeys.
  8. I was really lucky to have my first "real" work experience be in the CPO.
  9. I look a lot like my mom.
  10. I have a soft spot for boys named Sergio.
  11. Right wing college students get a lot of support from right wing AM radio listeners. Oh yeah, they're threatened by MEChA and the work we do. Educated Raza is threatening to some, I suppose.
  12. Being locked in a cabin all weekend with family is lots of fun. Oh yeah, I suck at Twister.
  13. My dreams are strangely prophetic.
  14. I should avoid mosh pits... especially when I'm wearing an ankle-length denim skirt.
  15. I'm brave. Oh yeah, and a friendship like mine and A's is strong enough to withstand one person falling for the other. Oh yeah, I'm amazing.
  16. My grades, test scores, school involvement, work experience, recommendations, and motivation for applying to MA and PhD programs were all deemed worthy enough to get me into all 5 schools I applied to.
  17. UCLA was/is the best place for me to complete my educational/career goals.
  18. Big name schools (read: East coast Ivy Leagues) aren't worth $35,000+ in tuition and living expenses for a one year program.
  19. A. influenced my decision-making a little too much.
  20. U of Michigan was too white and too cold for me.
  21. Tim N. (the director of the place I used to work) is right. He's always right.
  22. Apparently, it was kind of tought to find a replacement for me at work.
  23. Bad idea: hiring a couple to be on staff together. Very bad idea.
  24. The Saldivar (maternal grandmother) side of my family is HUGE. In about 100 years, two people grew exponentially to 878. That was as of May. I'm sure it's bigger now.
  25. Getting wisdom teeth pulled sucks.
  26. I think I've outgrown some friends.
  27. Morrissey, the Smiths and the Cure make me happy.
  28. I hate getting rejected from something I know I deserve and am qualified for.
  29. When deciding who gets hired at MC, the program I used to direct, my opinion matters. Perhaps my opinion carries too much weight.
  30. My siblings and cousins lucked out with some great genes. Cute kids grow up to be beautiful women and handsome men.
  31. Red if my favorite color to wear.
  32. My friends amaze me.
  33. I like tequila.
  34. I appreciate the Heights, my suburban hometown.
  35. There are a bunch of people who love baseball statistics as much as I do! (See: Moneyball method).
  36. I'm a nerd.
  37. I get dizzy and faint in the morning because I'm dehydrated.
  38. Being unemployed is fun, but boring.
  39. I get aggressive enough at rock en espa�ol concerts to want to fight girls who don't follow proper concert etiquette. Grr.
  40. Mazatl�n is nice, but it's hard to enjoy without friends, family or a lover.
  41. I love flying.
  42. Being in M�xico for just a few weeks, getting to know family and getting to know new places has had a lasting effect on me. I think this'll be it's own entry. I feel more Mexican than I've ever felt in my life.
  43. I like writing hailus.
  44. There are some amazing bloger@s out in the blogosphere.
  45. Giving out money, or being on a funding board, is harder than I thought.
  46. Cesar Izturis is my favorite shortstop in baseball. I have a thing for Venezolano baseball players.
  47. Credit cards are evil.
  48. Shyness is nice, and shyness can stop you from doing all the things in life you'd like to. So, if there's something you'd like to try, ask me, I won't say "no" how could I? (Yes, I quoted the Smiths).
  49. I love the Dodgers.
  50. I don't ever want to be involved in a long distance relationship again.
  51. The baseball postseason distracts me from my studies.
  52. Being a research assistant is harder than I expected.
  53. I'm an "old school" MEChistA. Oh yeah, I'm also the procrastinator-multicultural-rockera-middle class but in denial MEChistA.
  54. Grad school coursework is easier than I expected.
  55. I like "moody white people" music (c) Isa.
  56. I'm scared about the next four years.
  57. I have too many grey hairs.
  58. My peer group had a huge effect on my college choice process.
  59. Las Vegas is more fun when you're not old enough to gamble and lose your financial aid money.
  60. Men who call themselves Hispanic and/or Latin totally turn me off. I'm so judgemental.
  61. Professional cheerleaders cannot drive.
  62. There are so many facets from which to examine the issue of undocumented students in higher education.
  63. Indian men (whether from Asia or native to north America) are not for me.
  64. I love LA.
  65. I like Mexican men, a lot... but I don't think they like me.

Comments: 1 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento: bored
Escuchando: smallville

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star