BIS (Boy in Stroller)
02.08.02 // 3:26 p.m.

Yawn. Vane woke me up especially early this morning so that we could head downtown to CABE where we�re both doing internships (except she�s paid!). Usually she leaves earlier than I do, but today we had to carpool because her car is basically dead.

By a quarter to 8 we were already on the rode discussing driving stick shift and current events in LA politics. We parked in the garage on Flower and proceeded to head over to the Coffee Bean for a quick fix to wake and warm us up. It was chillier than it had been this week, but even the cold air couldn�t snap me out of my reverie.

It was a quarter past 8 and we were still waiting for the little blue man to replace the orange hand signaling that it was safe for pedestrians to step onto the asphalt. As a blonde woman walked past us I snapped out of half-asleep mode, almost as if I had been called to attention by a drum major. She didn�t interest me; instead it was the little boy she pushed ahead of her in a stroller towards Express across the street.

I can�t tell you anything about the mother and child other than their hair colors. As I write about it I wonder if it was just an apparition, but it couldn�t be because Vane saw it as well. I couldn�t stop staring at the boy even as we stepped inside the boundaries of the crosswalk towards the Coffee Bean.

�Wow, now that is red hair,� Vane muttered to me.

I on the other hand was thinking about how BIS (Boy in Stroller) had hair in a vibrant red-orange hue I had only seen in two other places: the Red Rocks in Sedona, Arizona and Dom�s baby pictures. Any male redhead I see automatically reminds me of Dom� as if I need to think about him more than I already do.

I guess when you really miss someone even a toddler reminds you of him.

Listening to: �700 Mile Situation� by Res, from How I Do.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star