V-day: one week away
02.07.02 // 2:04 a.m.

Its one week away and I am already dreading V-day. I don�t think the idea of V-day is bad, but to me it�s just another Hallmark Holiday. Of course the companies in the capitalist US would take advantage of this holiday for profit�s sake. In other countries, such as M�xico, February 14 is D�a del Amor y la Amistad � love and friendship. I like the Mexicans� way of celebrating it more because it doesn�t make many single people feel shitty.

So, every year when V-day roles around, whether I have a �Valentine� or not, I get a little moody. I still sort of celebrate it in my own little way. I give my friends the Valentines you gave out when you were in 2nd grade, but it�s a different story when I have a Valentine.

If I have a Valentine, I feel forced to do something special, but if I choose not to, it can cause problems. I�ve been there and it wasn�t too fun. For V-day 2000 I was stressed with midterms, work, planning a program and the last thing on my mind was dinner with my then-boyfriend. So I kind of blew him off and he didn�t talk to me for a week. Later, I found out that he had planned something special for me. Do I regret that? Yeah, I�d got back and at least tell him that I wasn�t feeling V-day before he went out of his way and spent money on an ingrate like myself.

The truth is I was glad that he planned something nice, I just wasn�t feeling it. I would have been annoyed if he had done nothing at all about V-day, which I know is contradictory to what I had said earlier.

I just don�t understand why you have to wait for this one day to shower your loved one with over-priced flowers, mushy cards, and candy. You should feel free to do that spontaneously rather than fall into the trap of an overly commercialized holiday.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star