Silence is golden� or not
02.06.02 // 1:06 a.m.

I rarely speak at council meetings. I might utter a sentence or two every once in a while and sometimes ask a question. Every time I review the minutes I see that I was present for the meeting, but you can barely tell because unless you checked that section you wouldn't know I was there. Most of the times my taciturn ways at the table go unmentioned by my peers. I know I�m not the only council member who rarely speaks, at least I show up, but today I felt especially bad about my silence.

First we had a special presentation and I didn�t even ask a question. I was listening, but the questions I thought of asking had already been asked and when I did have a question I quickly forgot it. Then some sticky issues came up and I just kept quiet while other people I ran for student government with had to fend for themselves.

I�ve begun to dread the meetings and anything having to do with student government. I honestly don�t like being a member of the council not because I don�t like the people I�m working with, but because I still haven�t found anything I�m passionate on working on.

Sometimes at council meetings I don�t even pay attention, but this time I was paying attention. I still couldn�t find my voice, especially in a pretty tense situation. I like to sit back a little and assess the situation before I give my two cents. I think too much before I speak, and this time it really pissed some people off. I don�t want to speak just for the sake of speaking, but it seems that�s what people want me to do.

What�s the solution to the problem? Is it a problem? By now I think it has become one and the only way I know how to fix it is to find some courage to speak at the table especially on the touchy issues� That is much easier said than done. For now, I�ll have to be more prepared going into the meetings and stay more focused during the meeting.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star