It speaks to me
01.23.02 // 7:55 p.m.

Do you ever find yourself finding songs that apply to you? I mean they just seem like they were written for you or your current situation. I was talking about this with Sunny yesterday right before a quick council meeting (gee, I like those). She agreed with me that it usually has to do when you�re infatuated with someone or the reverse, when you�re feeling bitter because some punk treated you like shit.

The Turtle: When I was trying to get over him I would sing at the top of my lungs in my car to Mexican rancheras. These are the best love songs, but they�re also great when you�re feeling really bitter. So there was one song, that I�ll call �Te Olvidar� or �I�ll forget you.� It was wonderful. Later Erykah Badu�s �Green Eyes� would remind me about him, especially the first few lines

My eyes are green
�Cause I eat a lot of vegetables
It don�t have nothing to do
With your new friend.

V-scale: his song was Alanis Morissette�s �Head over feet.� I had a crush on him for way too long and I felt like it was �all his fault� because he was the �best listener that I�d ever met�� He was and still is one of the best friends I have, but I was just slightly annoyed �cause I had this monster crush on him and I didn�t want to have a crush on him� but it was his fault!

Stupid: I had a lot of songs in mind with him, most in Spanish. Ana Gabriel�s �Me Equivoqu� Contigo� seemed to be written by Jos� Alfredo Jimenez (a prolific Mexican composer) especially for him. Sheryl Crow�s �My Favorite Mistake� fit well too. A nicer song that fit that situation was �Sabor a mi,� but that might be giving him too much credit. The lines that fit him most were,

Si negaras mi presencia en tu vivir
Bastaria con abrazarte y conversar
Tanta vida yo te di
Que por fuerza tienes ya sabor a mi.

Dom: Since it�s a long distance thing, �700 mile situation� by Res reminds me a lot about him. �Too Marvelous for Words� sung by Billie Holiday because he really is �just too very very to ever be in Webster�s dictionary.� Finally, �Love Poems� by Bilal seems to be the soundtrack for the last couple of days �cause of the following lines

As we step from across the room
Starting to ponder what we've been going through
What does my kiss mean to you?
Are we just friends, or is this more to you?
But if we label this, just picture what we might lose
That unexpected kiss
That whole feeling that brought me to you.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star