sadness sets in
12.14.01 // 6:51 p.m.

My parents decided not to tell me until today because they knew that I was stressing over finals week. They were trying all day to get ahold of me, but my cell phone was off. Then my sister comes online as I'm rushing to complete my personal statement for a grad school application. She had me call home immediately, and then I spoke to my dad.

I sensed that it wasn't good news because I could hear it in my dad's voice. He apologized for not having told me sooner, but they were trying to be considerate that I had to take finals. Then he explained that a member of our extended family, Martin (he's my uncle's brother) had passed away suddenly on Monday. I'm going home now to attend the wake and see Martin, a man with 3 daughters, the oldest being 15, for the last time. I've known him my whole life and saw him a few times a year at birthday parties or holidays.

I don't mind that my parents had not told me sooner. Its been a very stressful week. At least this time they handled it better than leaving a message on my answering machine.

Que descanses en paz (rest in peace), Martin Ure�o. I will take with me the memory of your beautiful smile, kind words, and the immense love you had for your girls. I will miss you.

Comments: 0 comments [this feature no longer works]

Me siento:
Escuchando:

M�s reciente:
Searches - 09.16.05
the big move - 07.29.05
mother and daughter: a comparative analysis - 07.28.05
jardineros y dom�sticas - 07.27.05
tough question - 07.25.05

antes // despu�s


star star star